press release

In our second White Room we are proud to present "The Early Show" a group exhibition curated by Elysia Borowy-Reeder, Scott Reeder, and Tyson Reeder. "The Early Show" will feature works made by established artists before they had any formal art education, or at a very, very early stage in their education, or careers. A cross-generational exhibition "The Early Show" seeks to privilege these nascent, often tentative creative gestures, whilst considering how such gestures might relate to, or depart from, these artists' more 'mature' or better known work. Artists confirmed for "The Early Show" include: Franz Ackermann, Cory and Jamie Arcangel, David Aron, Brian Belott, Cecily Brown, Gavin Brown, Sara Clendening, Anne Collier, Santiago Cucullu, Peter Doig, Jim Drain, Hannah Fushihara, Mary Heilmann, Chris Johanson, Daniel Johnstone, Rachel Kushner, Frankie Martin, Donald Morgan, Rebecca Morris, JP Munro, Elizabeth Peyton, David Reed, Chris Smith, Francine Spiegel, Spencer Sweeney, Mungo Thomson, Lane Twitchell, and Megan Whitmarsh.

"The Early Show" will be accompanied by a special issue of White Columns' in-house journal "The W.C."

Elysia Borowy-Reeder, Scott Reeder, and Tyson Reeder are artists and curators based in Chicago and Milwaukee. Their recent curatorial projects include the celebrated exhibition series "Drunk vs. Stoned," (organized with Gavin Brown and Corrina Durland) for Gavin Brown's enterprise, New York (2004 and 2005); and since 2000, they have been prime-movers behind Milwaukee's famed project space "The General Store." In 2006, they will organize a new project for The Ulrich Museum of Art in Wichita.


The Early Show
Kuratoren: Elysia Borowy-Reeder, Scott Reeder, Tyson Reeder
Ort: White Room

Early works by assume vivid astro focus, Franz Ackermann, Cory Arcangel & Jamie Arcangel, David Aron, Alex Bag, Donald Baechler, Brian Belott, Katherine Bernhardt, Cecily Brown, Gavin Brown, Edgar Bryan, Mark Borchardt, Brian Chippendale, Sara Clendening, Anne Collier, Santiago Cucullu, Trinie Dalton, Peter Doig, Jim Drain, Hanna Fushihara, Mary Heilmann, Christian Holstad, Jonathan Horowitz, Cannon Hudson, Gaylen Gerber, Joseph Grigely, Charles Irvin, Chris Johanson, Daniel Johnston, Stanya Kahn, Rachel Kushner, Michael Langlois, Frankie Martin, Donald Morgan, Rebecca Morris, JP Munro, Laura Owens, Elizabeth Peyton, Ricky Powell, Rob Pruitt, David Reed, Ruth Root, Chris Smith, Francine Spiegel, Matthew Sweeney, Spencer Sweeney, Mungo Thomson, Rirkrit Tiravanija, Lane Twitchell, Amy Vogel, Andrew WK, Megan Whitmarsh