press release

Exhibition : 9 May - 14 June 2009 Award ceremony: 28 May 2009

Witte de With and de Appel are pleased to co-host the 2009 PRIXDEROME.NL exhibition from 9 May through 14 June 2009. The PRIXDEROME.NL is the Dutch 'state' prize for contemporary artists. The exhibition will be held across two different venues, where new projects by the four shortlist artists will be on display alongside a selection of work by the six longlist artists.

In 2009 the shortlist artists are: Rossella Biscotti (1978, IT, lives and works in Rotterdam), Nicoline van Harskamp (1975, NL, lives and works in Amsterdam), Ólafur Ólafsson i.c.w. Libia Castro (1973,IS / 1969 ES) both live and work in Rotterdam) and Sara Rajaei (1976, IR, lives and works in Den Haag).

The longlist includes: Maze de Boer (1976, NL, lives and works in Amsterdam), Rob Hornstra (1975, NL, lives and works in Utrecht), Heidi Linck (1978, NL, lives and works in Wageningen), Marc Oosting, (1976, NL, lives and works in Amsterdam), Helmut Smits (1974, NL, lives and works in Rotterdam), and Jasmijn Visser (1983, NL, lives and works in Utrecht).

The 2009 Prix de Rome exhibition is curated by Sarah Farrar (de Appel) and Juan A. Gaitán (Witte de With). The exhibition will be held across two locations: at Witte de With in Rotterdam and de Appel, as part of a special disembodied programme of activities whilst awaiting its new 'home' base, presents an off-site exhibition at the Westergasfabriek ('Zuiveringshal Oost') in Amsterdam. Tickets to the exhibition will be valid for both venues.

The winner of the PRIXDEROME.NL 2009 will be announced on 28 May 2009 during an official award ceremony in the Gashouder at the Westergasfabriek in Amsterdam.

The winner is selected from the four shortlist artists by an international jury comprised of Kestutis Kuizinas (LT), chairman, Yael Bartana (IL), Jurgen Bey (NL), Bruce McLean (UK) and Barbara Visser (NL).

A catalogue documenting the work of the ten artists featured in the PRIXDEROME.NL 2009 exhibition, with special attention to the work of the four shortlist artists, will be released on 28 May 2009. It is published by NAi Publishers and will be available from the exhibition venues and selected booksellers.

only in german

Witte de With, Rotterdam / De Appel, Amsterdam
Kuratoren: Sarah Farrar, Juan A. Gaitan

shortlist 2009:
Rossella Biscotti, Nicoline van Harskamp, Castro / Olafsson, Sara Rajaei

longlist 2009: Maze de Boer, Rob Hornstra, Heidi Linck, Marc Oosting, Helmut Smits, Jasmijn Visser ...