press release

In the open
A new series of audio works available online
July 31–September 11, 2020

In the open is a new project, a series of audio works that have been conceived during lockdown conditions and devised for listening during daily walks and time outdoors. Prompted by the restrictions necessitated by Covid-19, and the way these continue to affect our public and social lives, In the open has been created as a way of connecting at a time when we are separated.

The project comprises six new works by Glasgow-based artists Lkue Fowler, Lauren Gault, Ashanti Harris, Sulaïman Majali, Duncan Marquiss, and Margaret Salmon, each working from different points of reference and experience to explore geographies, histories and globally linked emotions, with Glasgow’s parks, green spaces, and other walking routes of the city in mind.

The works take various forms—experimental sound, field recordings, readings, performance and conversation—with each reflecting different rhythms and altered soundscapes in the city. They may offer forms of intimacy, emotional trajectories, diaristic journeys and touch without touching; suggest a redefinition of our relationship to nature and the city as a strategy for living; encourage new understandings of time and location; or else provide a record of the unseen forces and invisible labour that supports society.

Designed for headphones, the works are imagined as being listened to outdoors but can of course be listened to anywhere and will exist beyond this particular place and present moment in time.

In the open allows us to continue our commitment to supporting artists and developing new works. The project will unfold incrementally over the coming months with each audio work released on The Common Guild website and Bandcamp page.

Release Dates:
Luke Fowler
Friday, July 31, 2020

Lauren Gault
Friday, August 7, 2020

Duncan Marquiss
Friday, August 14, 2020

Margaret Salmon
Friday, August 21, 2020

Ashanti Harris
Friday, August 28, 2020

Sulaïman Majali
Friday, September 4, 2020

Luke Fowler
Friday, September 11, 2020

All works will be available to download as a podcast at the end of the project. Transcriptions will be available in English.