press release

Special Foodprint Location: BINK36, Binckhorstlaan 36, The Hague

The Foodprint exhibition shows crucial moments relating to food, food production and the city through the work of artists and designers. Starting in the late 1960s artists have used food as a theme for tackling wider social topics. Gordon Matta Clark organized a restaurant as a meeting place. In Manhattan, Agnes Denes sowed a field of corn as a political statement: real estate versus food. More recently one comes across projects by Atelier Van Lieshout, centered around self-sufficiency, or Raul Ortega Ayala and Yang Zhichao, which focus on food in relation to ethical value systems.

Participants: Atelier Van Lieshout (NL), Bohn & Viljoen Architects (UK), Olaf Breuning (CH), Agnes Denes (USA), Helmut Dick (GER), Driessens & Verstappen (NL), Fritz Haeg (USA), Winy Maas / The Why Factory (TU Delft, NL), Gordon Matta Clark (USA), Christien Meindertsma (NL), Leberecht Migge (GER), Nils Norman (UK), Raul Ortega Ayala (MX), Giuseppe Penone (IT), Debra Solomon (USA/NL), Van Bergen Kolpa Architecten (NL), Frank Lloyd Wright (USA), Yang Zhichao (CN) and many more.

Curated by: Marieke Berkers Exhibition design: PRONK Rotterdam

Foodprint: The program Foodprint. Food for the city takes place over the course of two years and deals with the impact of food on the culture, structure and functioning of cities in general, using the city of The Hague as a case study. With a series of activities Stroom aims to increase people's awareness of the value of food and to give new life to the way we view the relationship between food and the city. The program invites artists and designers to develop appealing proposals on the subject, while at the same time establishing a clear connection with entrepreneurs, farmers, food experts and the general public.

Special Foodprint blog (mainly in Dutch)

only in german

Kurator: Marieke Berkers

Künstler: Atelier van Lieshout, Bohn & Viljoen Architects, Olaf Breuning, Agnes Denes, Helmut Dick, Driessens & Verstappen, Fritz Haeg, Winy Maas / The Why Factory , Gordon Matta-Clark, Christien Meindertsma, Leberecht Migge, Nils Norman, Raul Ortega Ayala, Giuseppe Penone, Debra Solomon, Van Bergen Kolpa Architecten, Frank Lloyd Wright, Yang Zhichao ...