press release

The festival Dutch Electronic Art Festival (DEAF) is a biannual international festival for electronic art, presented by V2, Institute for the Unstable Media, in Rotterdam, The Netherlands. The festival is a presentation platform for new media art – some of it commissioned by DEAF – and as a forum for critical debate and art education. By collaborating with local, national and international art and research institutes, the festival creates a synergy between the various art disciplines and the fields of architecture, philosophy, cultural and sociological science. DEAF attracts an audience that is still growing in number and diversity. Last year, DEAF03 was visited by almost 12.000 persons. DEAF04 is the seventh edition of this electronic art festival presented by V2 in Rotterdam since 1994. Its forerunner, Manifestation for the Unstable Media, was held annually since 1986 at V2_’s previous home base in ‘s-Hertogenbosch. Like previous editions of the festival, DEAF04 has above all an interdisciplinary orientation and is intended to facilitate an exchange between the most diverse artistic, scientific and social disciplines. DEAF04 features:

an exhibition of interactive installations and internet projects; live (music) performances; seminars and workshops; talks and presentations; an academic symposium and a publication; educational programs; * a DEAF04 website with practical information and documentation – to be launched in September 2004.

The theme Each of the festivals has a specific theme, which structures the contents of the event as a whole. Under the title Affective Turbulence: The Art of Open Systems, the theme of DEAF04 focuses on the instability of open systems and the instinctivity and irrationality that are necessary to act within these systems. Feeling is the engine of our actions. It has recently been demonstrated that we never do anything purely rationally. This is true of almost every human action – we cannot make a decision without relying on feeling or intuition. Interactive art – art the viewer must do something to in order to make something out of it or have an experience – is an art of feeling. Every interactive work tries to entice its user to perform certain actions, in the hope that the work will thereby reorganize itself into an unforeseen coherence. Interactive art is by definition non-autonomous and organizes itself as an open system, which functions via the exchange of matter, energy and/or information with the environment (i.e. the visitor). DEAF04 will show projects concerning an interactive art that functions as an open affective system, as a means of calling forth feelings and making them visible, from the individual to the global level. During DEAF04, this interactive artistic approach will be expanded to other disciplines, towards a better understanding of the basic principles of interacting-on-feeling. Some of the subthemes are:

open society (the influence of globalization on political and economic structures); open mind (the question of free flow of knowledge, e.g. the issue of copyrights and Creative Commons license); open networks (the organization and participation of open networks); open sky (how do we make use of ‘floating’ radio frequencies and electro-magnetic fields); * open desire (how does our imagination work and how do we build feelings into computer programs). Pressetext

only in german

DEAF04 "Affective Turbulence: The Art of Open Systems"
7. Edition
Organisation: V2 Institute for the Unstable Media, Rotterdam
Ort: Van Nelle Ontwerpfabriek, Rotterdam

mit, Aljosa Abrahamsberg, Arie Altena, Kristina Andersen, Arjun Appadurai, Maurice Benayoun, Edit Blaumann, Andreas Broeckmann, Beat Brogle, Jean Michel Bruyere, Paul Catling, Ewen Chardronnet, Jasper op de Coul, Florian Cramer, Chris Cunningham, Eda Cufer, Emanuel Danesch, Mike Davis, Paul Davis, Manuel DeLanda, Pierre DeJaeger, Tom Donaldson, Gerard van Dongen, Eastwood , FM Einheit. eye , Leonard Franken, Luka Frelih, Zhang Ga, Alex Galloway, Jaanis Garancs, Han Gerrits, GND , Tijs Goldschmidt, Oliver Grau, Tobias Grewenig, John Grzinich, Rob Haarsma, Nathan Hacktivist, Lynda Hardman, Bas Haring, Axel Heide, Eléonore Hellio, Ivan Herman, Owen Holland, The Hub , Sota Ichikawa, Wijnand IJsselsteijn, Zoe Irvine, Luke Jerram, Anne Nigten, Kazuhiro Jo, Karlis Kalnins, Michelle Kasprzak, Petr Kazil, Christopher Kelty, Janneke van Kersen, Roman Kirschner, Jurij Krpan, Rob van Kranenburg, Ulf Langheinrich, Victor Laskin, Jamie Lidell, David Link, Jeff Mann, Aymeric Mansoux, Akos Maroy, Charles van der Mast, Jeroen van Mastrigt, Laurent Mignonneau, Seiko Mikami, Joachim Montessuis, Arjen Mulder, Nat Muller, Mumbai Streaming Attack, Karim Nader, Loretta Napoleoni, Marnix de Nijs, Susana Noguero, Christian Nold, Angelika Oei, Onesandzeros, OOPz, Dan Overholt, Marko Peljhan, Kate Pendry, Permanent Breakfast, Philip Pocock, Andrea Polli, Poo , RadioWORM, Emilie Randoe, Maja Ratkje, Bradley Rhodes, Dick Rijken, David Rokeby, Gerd Ruebenstrunk, David Rych, Taeji Sawai, Mirko Tobias Schäfer, Omi Scheiderbauer - calc, Tom Schouten, Michiel Schwarz, Phoebe Sengers, Gebhard Sengmüller, Sfeer, Yukiko Shikata, Alexei Shulgin, Ran Slavin, Anneke Smelik, Christa Sommerer, Laetitia Sonami, sponge , Brian Springer, Lars Spuybroek, Gavin Starks, The Station , Gregor Stehle, Stahl Stenslie, SWO (SINE WAVE ORCHESTRA), Katsuki Tanaka, Michelle Teran, Eugene Thacker, Tigrics, Tilos Radio, Time's Up , Marc Tuters, Rene Verouden, Jan Vogel, Sha Xin Wei, Lebbeus Woods, Workspace Unlimited, Henk van Zeijts, Philippe Zimmermann

12. und 13.11. Symposium
mit Alex Galloway, Loretta Napoleoni, Arjun Appadurai, Manuel DeLanda, Karim Neder, Christa Sommerer, Tijs Goldschmidt, Christopher Kelty, Mike Davis