Weatherspoon Art Museum, Greensboro

WEATHERSPOON ART MUSEUM | Spring Garden and Tate Streets
NC-27402 Greensboro

plan route show map

artists & participants


press release

Art on Paper 2010 features regional, national and international artists who have produced significant works made on or of paper. Since 1965, the Weatherspoon’s Art on Paper exhibition has charted a history of art through the rubric of one-of-a-kind works on paper. Since its inception, the commitment of xpedx (formerly the Dillard Paper Company) and The Dillard Fund has allowed the Weatherspoon to acquire works from each and every Art on Paper exhibition, resulting in the formation and tremendous growth of the Dillard Collection, which today numbers close to 550 objects. Acquisitions have included work by some of art’s seminal practitioners, including Louise Bourgeois, Brice Marden, Joan Mitchell, Robert Smithson, Frank Stella and Eva Hesse.

Museum acquisitions for Art on Paper are made possible through the generous support of xpedx and the Dillard Fund. Support for the exhibition and catalogue is generously provided by the F.M. Kirby Foundation, Inc.

Curated by Xandra Eden, this year's exhibition includes 75 artists of regional and international significance. The exhibition opens on Saturday, November 6 with a Curator’s Talk (6:30 pm) and Preview Party (7-9 pm) hosted by the Weatherspoon Art Museum Association. Call 336.334.5770 or email for tickets. The 28-page Art on Paper 2010 catalogue, designed by Donna Wojek-Gibbs, includes selected images, an exhibition checklist, and curator’s statement.

Art on Paper 2010 - List of Artists: Mequitta Ahuja, Diana Al-Hadid, Michael Ananian, Ky Anderson, Walead Beshty, Huma Bhabha, Nina Bovasso, Natasha Bowdoin, Nicholas Buffon, Tom Burr, Barbara Campbell Thomas, Emilie Clark, Dawn Clements, Gabriel de la Mora, Brian Dettmer, Josh Dorman, Jason Dunda, Will Duty, Jenny Eggleston, Bryan Ellis, Mark Fox, Rosemarie Fiore, Roland Flexner, Heather Gordon, Maximo Gonzalez, Belinda Haikes, Jacob Hashimoto, Elana Herzog, Carter Hodgkin, Katie Holten, Rebecca Horn, Jessica Jackson Hutchins, Fritz Janschka, Lisa M. Kellner, Eun Hyung Kim, Elizabeth Leal, Tonya D. Lee, Maria (Eun-Hee) Lim, Cynthia Lin, John Maggio, Cameron Martin, Frank McCauley, Elizabeth McIntosh, Maureen McQuillan, Jennifer Meanley, Alison Moffett, Roy Nydorf, Paul P., Angela Piehl, Howardena Pindell, Amy Pleasant, William Powhida, Amy Purcell, Lauren Rice, Charlie Roberts, Chris Scarborough, Aurel Schmidt, Frank Selby, Julie Shapiro, Leah Sobsey, Duston Spear, Mariam Aziza Stephan, Dirk Stewen, Matthew Stromberg, Susanne Thomas, Christopher Thomas, Scott Treleaven, Michael Velliquette, Sarah Walker, Lee Walton, Robert Watts, Ruby Wescoat, Paula Wilson, Lisa Woods, and Rachael Wren.