press release

15th Biennale de Lyon 2019
19.09.2019 - 05.01.2020

Professional Preview
September 16-17, 2019
Press and professional accreditations: from May 2019 on the Biennale web site

Artistic director: Isabelle Bertolotti

Guest curator: Le Palais de Tokyo and its team of curators:
Adélaïde Blanc, Daria de Beauvais, Yoann Gourmel, Matthieu Lelièvre, Vittoria Matarrese, Claire Moulène, Hugo Vitrani.

Main venues:
Fagor Factory

In 2019, the Lyon Contemporary Art Biennale is moving to the 29,000 sqm space of the former Fagor factory for the first time. This 15th edition is curated by the Palais de Tokyo, which has imagined the international exhibition as a vast landscape of uneven topography and unsettled climates.

Together the curators have envisioned this biennale as a vast ecosystem where artworks and artists cultivate the art of permaculture, at the intersection of landscapes be they biological (all interactions with living organisms, whether plants, animals or bacteria); economic (all interactions with resources and the appetites they entail: producing, distributing, consuming) and cosmogonic (all relations with the world’s spirit and our awareness of our place in the universe).

Around 50 artists of all generations and many nationalities, with gender parity, have been invited to make site-specific works that draw on the factory’s legacy and architecture as well as its own socio-economic context.

“Fantastic gardens, hybrid creatures, bouquets of epiphytic stories, synthetic fragrances and mythological machines, but also colours, crystals, songs and infrasounds which could be intended for us humans as much as for our contemporaries: plants, animals, minerals, breaths and chemistries, waves and bacteria, are just some of the ingredients that make up the porous landscapes of this 15th Lyon Biennale. This edition—a reflection of our collective curatorial approach, based on discussion and collegiality—seeks to nurture chance encounters and unexpected connections between artworks specially produced in collaboration with the vital forces of the metro area, the Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes region and the city of Lyon.”

Curatoial team.


Participating artists
Rebecca Ackroyd (United Kingdom), Isabelle Andriessen (Netherlands), Jean-Marie Appriou (France), Felipe Arturo (Colombia), Bianca Bondi (South Africa/France), Malin Bülow (Sweden/Norway), Bureau des Pleurs (France), Stéphane Calais (France), Nina Chanel Abney (USA), Gaëlle Choisne (France), Yu-Cheng Chou (Taïwan), Lenka Clayton & Jon Rubin (United Kingdom/USA), Morgan Courtois (France), Daniel Dewar & Gregory Gicquel (United Kingdom/France/Belgium), Khalil El Ghrib (Morocco), Escif (Spain), Jenny Feal (Cuba/France), Thomas Feuerstein (Austria), Julieta García Vazquez & Javier Villa de Villafañe (Argentina), Petrit Halilaj (Kosovo/Germany), Dale Harding (Australia), Holly Hendry (United Kingdom), Karim Kal (Switzerland/France), Bronwyn Katz (South Africa), Sam Keogh (Ireland/Netherlands), Lee Kit (China/Taiwan), Eva L’Hoest (Belgium), Mire Lee (South Korea), Yona Lee (South Korea/New Zealand), Renée Levi (Turkey/Switzerland), Minouk Lim (South Korea), LYL Radio (France),Taus Makhacheva (Russia), Léonard Martin (France), Gustav Metzger (Germany/United Kingdom), Nicolas Momein (France), Shana Moulton (USA), Simphiwe Ndzube (South Africa/USA), Josèfa Ntjam (France), Fernando Palma Rodriguez (Mexico), Le peuple qui manque (France), Thao-Nguyên Phan (Vietnam), Abraham Poincheval (France), Stephen Powers (USA), Philippe Quesne (France), Marie Reinert (France/Germany), Megan Rooney (Canada/United Kingdom), Pamela Rosenkranz (Switzerland), Ashley Hans Scheirl & Jakob Lena Knebl (Austria/Germany), Aguirre Schwarz (France), Stéphane Thidet (France), Nico Vascellari (Italy), Trevor Yeung (China), Pannaphan Yodmanee (Thailand), Victor Yudaev (Russia/France), Mengzhi Zheng (China/France).